Uncategorized

Inspiration…where are you!?!?

Inspiration is a funny thing. You can’t see it, smell it, taste it, touch it, or even hold it. You can feel it when it bubbles up inside of you, and feel the empty loss when it’s missing. It has no apparent value to anyone else, but it is priceless to you  when you have it. You may be on a quest, that has lasted for years, to find this elusive gem that seems to be missing from your life . You may be searching high and low, far and wide, and peeking under every rock along your way, but I can almost guarantee that you won’t find it there. However, as elusive as inspiration appears to be, it is actually always closer than you think.

Have you ever tried to catch a dandelion seed as it floats along on the summer breeze? The more that you try to capture the fluffy seed in your hand, the more the seed seems to evade your grasp. But, how many times have you been blissfully relaxing outside,  enjoying the beauty of a warm and sunny summer day, and a dandelion seed simply lands on your hand? Ironic as it may seem, that is the way of inspiration. Inspiration will always find you. You never actually have to go looking for it. It requires no effort except for a bit of patience and the willingness to accept it when it offers itself to you. Had someone…anyone…shared this little tidbit of knowledge with me at some point in my life, it would have saved me a lot of  head banging and foot stomping in foolish futility. So, although I may not be able to hand inspiration to you on the proverbial silver platter, I am happy to gift you with my experiences of how inspiration found me.

As with all beginnings, there is always an ending that seems to precede that so called beginning. It’s kind of like that saying, “when one door closes another one opens”. It seems to me that I have had a lot more doors close on me than have opened. My fulltime job had ended due to a company closure…for the 2nd time. There didn’t appear to be any more jobs forthcoming despite my many efforts to make it happen. That was when I made the enormous decision,(at least it was for me), to start my own business. I discovered that I was no longer willing to wait for someone to offer me a job. I was going to create one for  myself. This is where inspiration really starts to come in handy, and it is probably your greatest asset. Well, I was at a loss. Inspiration…where are you!?!?

Once inspiration starts to kick in, the flood gates open and there is a constant and continuous flow that seems to prevail. Inspiration was triggered by simple things like watching T.V., an unknowing conversation with a friend, experiences while on vacation, and a birthday gift from a loved one. Although these were the triggers for inspiration, there was one common denominator that made all of the difference. That common denominator was me, and how I felt at the time of accepting  inspiration. There is a tingling excitement and a knowingness within me that sends the fireworks flying whenever I am touched by inspiration. Everyone has some kind of response to inspiration, and although it is different for everyone, it is unmistakable. I would love for you to join me on this journey into the heart of inspiration as I continue to share in wonderment of where it takes me.

Until next time…may all of your moments be inspired ones.

Leave a Reply

