Spirit and the germination of inspiration

It all started while I was planning a vacation to Cape Cod a couple of years ago. For the very first time my significant other  gave me full and complete reign over all of the decisions, about where we were going to stay for the week that we were away. I was stunned at first, since he always does the planning. Not that he is a control freak or anything, it is just something that he likes to do for enjoyment and a sense of satisfaction. It caught me off guard at first, at the ease of his handing over such an important assignment, (at least for him). As I began to research lodging for the two of us, I kept being drawn to lovely little Inns and Bed and Breakfasts. We were going to be staying in  charming little towns along the way, with our final destination to be Provincetown. Inspiration was directing me all the way. It wasn’t anything obvious since I was blissfully unaware at the time for my choices, but it was the beginning of something great. Sometimes inspiration isn’t obvious, but a heart directed notion that begins to fulfill a destiny. You just have to let it flow and trust in the outcome of your choices.

When the time finally came for our vacation, I was thrilled. I am an avid traveler with a love and lust for adventure, new places and experiences. Every inn and bed & breakfast we stayed at was more lovely than the one before. We were greeted with such warm and generous hospitality, as if we were long lost family that had finally returned home. The rooms were warm and cozy, reminding me of summer stays at my grandmothers house.  I remember vividly strolling along the narrow lanes on Martha’s Vineyard in awe of the character and charm in every glance. There was no end to the beauty of the quaint cottages all painted in lovely pastel paint colours and trimmed in gingerbread facades. I turned to my partner and said, “I would love to own a lovely bed & breakfast by the sea. That would be my perfect life”. He agreed that it would be a wonderful lifestyle to have. That moment…that one thought…was the first seed that inspiration planted. That seed was buried deeply in my psyche. I was still unaware of it’s existence, but it was germinating, and creating a new beginning.

I returned home to the normalcy of my everyday life, but that seed continued to germinate. Our spirit knows of our every heart’s desire, and it will begin to move mountains to bring it into being. That is where I feel that our greatest inspiration comes from, and from where it is born. I was innocently watching a T.V. show one evening, I couldn’t tell you which one it was, or what the show was about , but I remember one very specific moment. A commercial came on that shook me to my core. I remember that the commercial was for laundry detergent, a very insignificant aspect of it for me, but more important to me was the story within the commercial. It told the story of a family that runs a bed & breakfast and how much they enjoy doing it. That innocent commercial touched something deep within me, a memory of a desire. My body, and more specifically my heart, was engaged with a longing of it’s desire to be fulfilled. This was the second time that this desire had been acknowledged from the inner depths of my being, but the seed within me had grown enough to be noticed. Inspiration was making itself known to me in no uncertain terms.

Until next time…may all of your moments be inspired ones!germination

Leave a Reply

